Skip to content

Teaching Council shortfall conditions: there is an official directory, it is not called what you think, and 'aptitude test' usually means a course of study

Ireland's Teaching Council publishes a directory of where to clear a registration shortfall — under the name Aptitude Test Provision, with no explanatory text on the page at all. This explains the four kinds of shortfall, the three-year clock and how it lapses, the two permitted ways to clear one, and what the 5 January 2026 change actually was.

Primary source: www.teachingcouncil.ie · source dated fetched 2026-09-03 · verified on · applies to intake Applications made on or after 5 January 2026 are assessed against the Curricular Subject Requirements (Post-Primary) effective from that date. The Timebound Provision is open to applications received before 31 December 2027.

If you qualified as a teacher outside the Republic of Ireland, the Teaching Council will very likely register you with conditions, and you will then need to find out where to go to clear them. Three things about that make it harder than it should be.

The official directory exists, but it is not called a list of shortfall courses. It is published as “Aptitude Test Provision”, one page for primary and one for post-primary, organised by subject and by discipline with the Irish institutions that provide each.

“Aptitude test” here does not usually mean a test. The Council’s own gloss, on its post-primary page, defines it as “a specific module or course of study”. You are being sent to study something, not to sit something — with one exception, below, which genuinely is an exam.

And the change everyone cites for 5 January 2026 is not the change people think it is. More on that below, because it matters and the common description of it is wrong.

What a condition is, legally

Registration with conditions is not an informal arrangement. It sits on section 31(6)(b) of the Teaching Council Act 2001, exercised through the Teaching Council [Registration] Regulations 2025 — S.I. No. 482 of 2025, signed on 16 October 2025, replacing the 2016 Regulations. Regulation 12 gives the Council power to “register an applicant subject to such condition(s) as the Council considers appropriate.”

For qualifications obtained outside the State, the Regulations point at the European machinery: where the Council is not satisfied the requirements are met following assessment under the General System, it may require an adaptation period or an aptitude test — both terms carrying the meanings given to them in the Professional Qualifications Directive. The Council’s own shortfalls page cites Directive 2005/36/EC, transposed by S.I. No. 139 of 2008.

One point that is easy to miss and has wide effect: the Regulations state expressly that this also applies to applicants who fall outside the Directive and to third-country applicants. There is no separate, gentler route for non-EU teachers, and the Council says applications from teachers qualified outside Ireland are processed “individually and in the same manner, regardless of whether they qualified within or outside the EU.”

Conditional registration is not a way in for the partly qualified

This is the paragraph most worth reading before you apply, and almost nobody quotes it. The Council will not grant conditional registration if you have partially completed a qualification, if you have not previously been recognised as a teacher, or if you have “an obvious qualification shortfall at the time of applying”.

Read together, those three exclusions say that conditional registration is a bridge for someone already fully qualified and recognised somewhere else whose qualification differs in detail from Ireland’s. It is not an entry route for someone still training, and it is not a way to be admitted with a gap you can already see. If your gap is visible on paper before you apply, the answer is to close it first — see what to study when there is no eligible teaching qualification.

Four families of qualification shortfall

The Council lists what a shortfall may cover, and it is broader than the subject-knowledge case that dominates the discussion:

  • shortfalls in curricular subject knowledge
  • foundation studies in education
  • subject teaching methodologies
  • supervised school placement

Only the first is about your degree subject. The other three are about the shape of your teacher education, and they cannot be fixed by taking another subject module. The school-placement one in particular is measured in days — the supervised teaching practice requirement.

Separately from all of these, every applicant who qualified outside the Republic of Ireland receives the History and Structure of the Irish Education System condition. It is universal, not a finding about your transcript — what the History and Structure condition involves.

Primary teachers who trained abroad normally also receive an Irish Language Requirement condition. And two other things that are often called conditions are not qualification shortfalls at all: Droichead, the induction process, which the Regulations attach automatically to newly qualified teachers, and Garda vetting, which the Council treats as a precondition to finalising registration rather than as a condition on it. Probation, the old primary route, was discontinued — Droichead has been the only primary induction route since September 2020.

The two permitted ways to clear a subject shortfall

The Council names exactly two, in one sentence: completing an aptitude test — “a specific module or course of study” — or “Teaching in the area of the shortfall (also known as an adaptation period).”

The second is easy to overlook and is free. If you are already employed teaching the subject in question, that teaching can itself be the remedy. The Council does not say which is preferable, and it publishes no comparison, so this is a question to put to it directly rather than to a course provider who sells one of the two options.

What the directory does and does not say

We read the post-primary Aptitude Test Provision page in full. It contains its heading, section headings for curricular subjects, foundational disciplines and professional studies, the names of institutions, and contact emails. It contains no sentences.

That absence is the honest answer to the question this page is named for. The page does not say the list is exhaustive. It does not say a course must come from it. It does not say a course from elsewhere would be refused. There is no published pre-approval mechanism either — the Council’s instruction when a condition is met is to log in and upload evidence of completion, which is an after-the-fact process. The only forward-looking phrase we found anywhere is a request, in the extension-evidence list, for proof that you are registered on “a recognised course that will address your condition” — and “recognised course” is not defined on any page we could reach.

So: use the directory, because it is the Council’s own and it names institutions that have provided for each shortfall. But if the course you want is not on it, do not assume either way. Ask the Council in writing before you enrol and pay. Which subjects have thin or absent provision is examined in the Route 2 curricular subject criteria.

The one shortfall that really is an exam

History and Structure is run by the Council itself as an online examination, three times a year, with a cap of 130 places per sitting. It lasts two and a half hours, and candidates answer two questions, with a recommended length of 1,500–2,000 words each. It is graded satisfactory or unsatisfactory.

Note that History and Structure also appears in the post-primary provision directory under foundational disciplines, with named institutions. So for that one condition the Council’s own examination and university-provided routes coexist, and the “aptitude test” label covers both an actual test and a course of study on the same website. That is the vocabulary trap in a single example.

The clock, and exactly how it lapses

Three years is the normal period, running from the date of registration, and the Council frames it as the maximum the Directive allows for compensatory measures.

  • You can apply for an extension from six months before the condition expires. Extensions are at the Council’s discretion, and it publishes the grounds it typically accepts — including prolonged illness, caring for a seriously ill close relative, bereavement, family leave, long-term travel or employment outside the State, full-time study, and failure to secure the employment needed to meet a condition.
  • Extension requests take roughly four to eight weeks to process.
  • If you neither comply nor obtain an extension, registration lapses.
  • And the sharpest procedural point in the whole system: if you never apply for an extension, there is no review. The Council’s published procedures state that a review opportunity exists only where an extension application has been made and refused. A decision of the extension group is final.
  • Renewal is also blocked while a condition is due to expire within six months.

There is one piece of relief on the record: if a teacher lapses and later reapplies, the Council will consider whether it is appropriate to allocate the balance of the original period.

Diarise the date on your conditional registration letter, and diarise it minus six months. That second date is the one that protects your review rights.

What the 5 January 2026 change actually was

A claim circulates that the Teaching Council tightened Route 2’s academic requirements with effect from 5 January 2026. We went looking for that and it is not what the Council says.

What changed on 5 January 2026 is the Curricular Subject Requirements (Post-Primary) document. The Council’s own announcement, published 29 October 2025, describes the addition of two new subjects — Climate Action and Sustainable Development, and Drama, Film and Theatre Studies — together with clarifications to the requirements for Physical Education, Politics & Society, Music and Art. Nothing in the Regulations’ Route 2 text carries a 5 January 2026 commencement, and the Council does not describe the change as raising a threshold.

The larger change of that season is a different one: the Registration Regulations 2025, signed 16 October 2025, which replaced the 2016 Regulations and introduced a Timebound Provision for teachers qualified outside the State who have not completed induction in their own country. It opened for applications on 22 October 2025 and closes to applications on 31 December 2027. Note that even under it, the History and Structure condition — and, where necessary, a curricular subject condition — still apply.

Two dates, two documents, one season. Conflating them produces the claim we could not verify.

The version that binds you is the one live on your application date

The Regulations require that a subject’s requirements be satisfied “as published by the Council on its website at the time of the application”. So the governing document is not the one you downloaded while researching; it is the one on the site the day you apply.

That makes one small inconsistency worth flagging. Read on 3 September 2026, the Council’s qualified-in-Ireland post-primary page still tells readers that the curricular subject requirements apply “from 1 January 2023”, while the link in the same sentence resolves to the document effective 5 January 2026. The link is right and the sentence is stale. Follow the link, check the effective date printed on the cover, and do it again on the day you apply.

Two things the Council does not use, and one it does not have

It does not use NARIC or QQI. We searched the Regulations, the post-primary application guidelines and every page we fetched: no mention of either. Assessment is carried out by the Council’s own Qualifications Panel under the General System, supported by a letter from the competent authority in the country where you qualified. An Irish comparability statement is not the mechanism here — see an Irish NARIC statement does not register you.

There is no UK or Northern Ireland route. We found no UK-specific recognition statement and no mention of QTS anywhere. A teacher qualified in Britain or Northern Ireland goes through the same individual assessment as everyone else.

And the Council does not say whether you may teach while a condition is outstanding. We looked and it is not stated. The indirect evidence points towards yes — the extension form asks for proof of employment as a teacher, and the adaptation period route consists of teaching the subject — and the Regulations impose explicit teaching restrictions only on student teachers and on one restricted route. But the Council does not say it, so neither will we. Ask the Council, and ask the school.

What the directory does not carry

No fees, no duration, no ECTS credits, no online-or-in-person label, and no intake dates. All of that comes from the named institution, and none of it is the Council’s. Nor does the Council publish any statement about what a shortfall will cost you to clear.

What to do

  1. Read your conditional registration letter and the register entry. Both record the conditions and their expiry dates.
  2. Identify which of the four families your shortfall is in. A methodology or placement shortfall is not fixed by a subject module.
  3. Check whether the adaptation period route fits you before paying for a course.
  4. Use the Aptitude Test Provision directory, and if your course is not on it, ask the Council in writing before enrolling.
  5. Diarise expiry minus six months. Missing the extension window forfeits the review right entirely.
  6. Re-check the subject requirements document on the day you apply, not the day you research.

What this page does not do

We do not reproduce the Council’s subject requirement tables or its provider directory — its terms restrict commercial reproduction, and we link rather than copy. We cannot tell you what conditions you will receive; that is the Qualifications Panel’s decision on your documents alone. And where the Council has not stated something — whether a non-listed course is acceptable, what “recognised course” means, whether you may teach while conditional — we have said so rather than filled the gap.

Sources

degree.help summarises published rules. It is not an accreditation body and does not provide immigration advice. Only the named regulator can assess your qualification.