The Washington Accord recognises accreditation done inside a signatory's own jurisdiction — which is why a branch-campus engineering degree turns on who accredited it, not who awarded it
Both the International Engineering Alliance and one of its founding signatories publish the same clause: Accord recognition covers only programmes accredited by a signatory within its own national or territorial boundaries. This sets out what that settles for engineering programmes taught in Malaysia, Singapore and the UAE — and what it does not.
Primary source: www.internationalengineeringalliance.org · source dated fetched 2026-09-03 · verified on · applies to intake 2026/27
If you are asking whether an engineering degree taught at a campus in Malaysia, Singapore or the UAE is “Washington Accord accredited”, the published answer is that the question is put the wrong way round. The Accords do not recognise universities and they do not recognise degrees. They recognise accreditation decisions, and only those made by a signatory body inside its own country.
Two independent primary sources say this in almost the same words, and one of them gives a worked example against itself.
The clause that decides it
The International Engineering Alliance, which administers the Washington, Sydney and Dublin Accords, states it on its own Washington Accord page:
“Recognition under the Washington, Sydney and Dublin Accords is based on accreditation or recognition carried out by a signatory within its own jurisdiction. Under Clause 3 of the Accords, Accord recognition only applies to programmes accredited by signatories within their national or territorial boundaries (their jurisdiction).”
ABET, a founding signatory, publishes the same rule and then applies it to itself:
“The Washington Accord only recognizes engineering programs accredited within the signatories’ own jurisdictions. Signatories to the Washington Accord may accredit programs outside of their jurisdiction, but only those programs accredited within their jurisdictions are recognized by the Accord. For example, although we accredit programs in countries outside of the U.S., the Washington Accord recognizes only ABET-accredited programs within the U.S.”
Read that second sentence slowly. A signatory can accredit a programme abroad. Doing so does not put that programme inside the Accord. ABET repeats the identical construction for the Sydney and Dublin Accords, so this is not a quirk of one agreement.
That is the mechanism, and it is the same mechanism this site sets out in Professional accreditation and academic recognition are two systems: accreditation is a decision made by a named body, about a named programme, in a named place, for named years. It does not travel with a university’s name across a border.
What follows for the three teaching countries
The jurisdiction clause turns the question into a lookup: is there a signatory whose jurisdiction is the country where the programme is delivered, and did that body accredit this programme?
As published by the IEA on 3 September 2026, the Washington Accord has 25 full signatories and 7 listed as provisional. Among the full signatories:
| Teaching country | Signatory body with that jurisdiction | Full signatory since |
|---|---|---|
| Malaysia | Board of Engineers Malaysia (BEM) | 2009 |
| Singapore | Institution of Engineers Singapore (IES) | 2006 |
| United Arab Emirates | none listed | — |
The UAE appears in neither the full nor the provisional list on that page. Saudi Arabia’s ETEC is listed as provisional; no Emirati body is listed at all. Combined with ABET’s statement above, that produces a specific and unpleasant consequence: an engineering programme delivered in the UAE and accredited by a foreign signatory is, by the Accord’s own clause, accredited outside that signatory’s jurisdiction — and there is no in-jurisdiction signatory to accredit it instead. We found no published route by which a programme accredited in the UAE is covered by the Washington Accord. If a provider tells you otherwise, ask which signatory body made the accreditation decision and in which country, and check that body against the IEA’s list yourself.
The accession year matters too. ABET explains the general rule using itself: graduates of US-based ABET-accredited programmes “beginning in 1989” are covered, and “other signatories are under no formal obligation to recognize” graduates from before a signatory’s accession year, though they may do so at their own discretion. The IEA adds a note on its signatory list that “substantial equivalence of the accredited programs in the respective jurisdictions are validated one year prior to the year of admission.” Both statements point at the same thing: the year you enrolled is part of the fact, and a coverage claim that does not state a year range is not usable.
Malaysia publishes the most detail, and it is unusually direct
Malaysia is the one of the three where the in-jurisdiction accreditor publishes enough for you to work out how a transnational delivery is handled.
The Engineering Accreditation Council, which the Board of Engineers Malaysia delegates programme accreditation to, states the domestic position without hedging on its own page: “Only programmes accredited by the EAC/ETAC would be allowed to be offered at the institutions of higher learning in Malaysia, be it at public or private institutions.” It also states that an EAC-accredited degree is a prerequisite for registering with BEM, which registration is in turn required to practise engineering in Malaysia.
So a foreign university’s accreditation from its home body does not substitute. If the programme is taught at an institution in Malaysia, the EAC route is the route.
The EAC’s Engineering Programme Accreditation Standard 2024 then does something no other accreditor in this set does — it names the delivery modes and attaches a separate accreditation obligation to each. Section 6.3:
“An IHL may offer programme/s via various pathways at the main campus or at different locations, such as full-time, franchised, twinning, part-time, distance learning, joint degree, multi-campus etc. It is advisable that the various pathways are disclosed in the award of the degrees, either on the degree certificate or academic transcripts. For each of the pathways, the IHL shall apply for accreditation separately.”
And then the consequence of not disclosing:
“If different pathways for programmes from the same IHL that bear the same name are not disclosed on the degree certificate or academic transcripts, a single accreditation decision applies to all pathways, i.e. the accreditation decision of one pathway will affect the other pathways, and the weakest governs.”
Two things fall out of that. First, “the programme is accredited” is an incomplete sentence in Malaysia — you need to know which pathway was accredited, because a franchised or twinned delivery of an identically named programme is a separate application. Second, the standard treats disclosure on the certificate or transcript as the thing that separates the pathways; where the paperwork does not distinguish them, the accreditation outcome is pooled downward.
The application paperwork reflects the same architecture. The programme data sheet the EAC requires has a field for “IHL Awarding the Degree: (if different from A1)” — that is, the accreditor collects the awarding body separately from the delivering institution — and a field for “Mode of Study [Full-Time/Twinning/Part-Time/Others (please specify)]”. Section 8.7.2 adds that programmes offered “via various pathways and at different locations, such as, full-time, franchised, twinning, part-time, joint programme and multi campus may be conducted upon approval by the EAC,” and that “the IHL awarding the degree shall be responsible for ensuring the quality and management of these programmes.”
That is the clearest published description we found anywhere of a signatory treating delivery mode as an accreditation variable rather than an administrative detail.
What we could not settle
Singapore. IES has held full signatory status since 2006, so a programme accredited by IES in Singapore is in-jurisdiction. What we could not read on 3 September 2026 is whether and how IES accredits a programme delivered in Singapore under a foreign awarding body: its accreditation page loads as a shell with the substantive criteria not present in the page source. We are not going to infer a rule from an absence. If this is your situation, the question to put to IES in writing is narrow: does IES accredit programmes delivered in Singapore whose award is conferred by an institution outside Singapore, and if so under what conditions?
The UAE. We found no in-jurisdiction signatory and therefore no Accord route. We did not find a published Emirati equivalent of the EAC standard describing how transnational engineering delivery is accredited domestically.
Whether a home signatory’s accreditation ever reaches an overseas delivery. The jurisdiction clause tells you that even if it does, the Accord does not follow. It does not tell you whether a given signatory extends its own accreditation to its members’ offshore programmes at all — that is a signatory-by-signatory question, and the answer is published, if at all, by that signatory. Engineers Australia sets out its own conditions for recognising a qualification under the Accords on its migration skills assessment page; read the conditions there rather than anywhere else, including here.
The IEA’s own site has moved. The domain ieagreements.org, which many pages still link to and
which several accrediting bodies still link to from their own sites, did not resolve to a working
server from this machine on 3 September 2026 — the connection closed during the TLS handshake, and a
full browser produced the same failure. The live content is at internationalengineeringalliance.org.
If a page you are reading cites the old domain, that citation cannot currently be checked at source.
What to establish, in order
- Where was the programme taught, physically? That country, not the awarding university’s country, is the jurisdiction the Accord clause is about.
- Which body accredited the programme, and in which country? Ask the provider for the name of the accrediting body and the accreditation reference, in writing. “Accredited by the awarding university’s home body” and “accredited by the local signatory” are different answers with different consequences.
- Check that body against the IEA’s signatory list, and note the accession year. The list is published; the accession years are on the same page.
- Get the year range the accreditation covers, and compare it with your enrolment year. Not your graduation year, unless the accreditor’s published wording uses graduation year — some do.
- In Malaysia, ask which pathway was accredited. Franchised, twinned, multi-campus and full-time are separate applications under the current standard. Ask whether your pathway carries its own accreditation decision and whether your certificate or transcript discloses the pathway.
- Ask the body you actually need a decision from. Accord coverage is an input to a licensing or assessment decision, not the decision. Every signatory that publishes on this says the licensing authority decides.
What this page does not do
It does not tell you whether any particular programme is covered, and it cannot. It does not name institutions, because a coverage claim about a named institution would need the accrediting body’s own current entry with its year range, and that is a record you must read at the source on the day you rely on it. And it does not say what any registration board, assessing authority or employer will decide — the Accords themselves say the licensing and registration organisations in each country make that call.
Where a rule is not published, the honest answer is that there is no published rule.
Related
- Professional accreditation and academic recognition are two systems — the underlying mechanism this page applies to engineering.
- One award, four rulebooks — why the same certificate is read four different ways.
- A degree that is not from an accredited programme: what that actually means — the Australian assessment consequence.
- Professional engineer, technologist, associate: the three levels — which Accord maps onto which level.
- Five TNE modes explained — franchised, twinned, multi-campus: what the words mean before an accreditor asks you which one you were on.
- Where professions most often reject a transnational award — engineering compared with the professions that publish harder bars.
Sources
- International Engineering Alliance — Washington Accord (jurisdiction clause; full and provisional signatory lists with accession years) · fetched 2026-09-03
- ABET — Mutual Recognition Agreements (Washington, Sydney and Dublin Accord jurisdiction statements; recognition dates; conditions for sponsoring an accrediting body into an accord) · fetched 2026-09-03
- Engineering Accreditation Council Malaysia — Function of the EAC (accreditation as a precondition for offering engineering programmes at institutions of higher learning in Malaysia; BEM registration) · fetched 2026-09-03
- Engineering Accreditation Council Malaysia — Engineering Programme Accreditation Standard 2024 (section 6.3 Programmes; section 8.7.2; Appendix A programme data sheet) · document version as of 17 April 2025; fetched 2026-09-03
- Engineers Australia — migration skills assessment (Accord conditions; referenced, not reproduced) · fetched 2026-09-03
- Institution of Engineers Singapore — Accreditation (page loaded; substantive criteria not readable without scripting) · fetched 2026-09-03
degree.help summarises published rules. It is not an accreditation body and does not provide immigration advice. Only the named regulator can assess your qualification.