Which Australian qualification closes a VETASSESS 'major not highly relevant' gap — the level is AQF 5 to 8, and the one that does not work is the obvious one
VETASSESS's Pathway 2 accepts an additional qualification at Diploma, Advanced Diploma, Associate Degree or Graduate Diploma level in a highly relevant field, and cuts the employment requirement from three years to two. It will not accept a Graduate Diploma as a substitute for the degree itself.
Primary source: www.vetassess.com.au · source dated fetched 2026-09-03 · verified on · applies to intake 2027
The gap this page is about has a precise name in VETASSESS’s criteria. Your qualification is at the right level, and its major is “not highly relevant” to the occupation you nominated. That finding does not end the application — for Group B, C, D and F occupations it moves you onto a lower pathway, and the difference between the pathways is measured in years of employment.
The remedy VETASSESS publishes is an additional qualification in a highly relevant field, at a level that is lower than most people expect. And the qualification that does not work is the one most applicants reach for first.
The published rule
From the Group B criteria, in identical wording across the occupation pages we read:
“This pathway requires a qualification assessed as comparable to the education level of an Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF) Bachelor degree or higher degree and in a field not highly relevant to the nominated occupation… An additional qualification in a highly relevant field of study at a minimum AQF Diploma level is required. Additional qualifications in a highly relevant field of study include those comparable to the AQF Diploma or AQF Advanced Diploma or AQF Associate Degree or AQF Graduate Diploma.”
The employment consequence, set against the pathway that has no additional qualification:
| Group B pathway | What you hold | Employment required |
|---|---|---|
| 2 | non-relevant bachelor plus an additional qualification at AQF 5–8 in a highly relevant field | 2 years post-qualification, in the last five |
| 3 | non-relevant bachelor, nothing added | 3 years post-qualification, in the last five |
| 4 | bachelor, relevant or not | 6 years, including one highly relevant year in the last five |
For Group C occupations the same structure runs at a lower floor: the additional qualification need only be “at a minimum AQF Certificate IV level. Additional qualifications in a highly relevant field of study include those comparable to the AQF Certificate IV.”
VETASSESS also publishes a worked example of how the dates are counted, and it is more generous than most people assume:
“As the later Diploma qualification is highly relevant to the occupation, the applicant may access the reduced employment requirement applicable under Pathway 2. In this case, only two years of QP are required, and that employment may be counted from the post-Bachelor period rather than from the Diploma qualification completion date.”
In other words, the employment clock does not restart when you finish the top-up. Work done before the additional qualification, but after the bachelor’s degree, can count.
One warning about that example. The identical passage appears on every Group B occupation page and names “an applicant for the occupation Quality Assurance Manager”; the Group C version names “an applicant for the occupation Program or Project Administrator” and appears even on pages for other occupations. These are template illustrations, not occupation-specific findings.
What does not work
A Graduate Diploma cannot supply the bachelor-level requirement itself. VETASSESS:
“we will not assess an Australian Graduate Diploma or comparable overseas postgraduate diploma, either alone or in combination with underpinning sub-degree qualifications, for comparability to the educational level of an Australian Bachelor degree… Therefore, a qualification assessed at AQF Graduate Diploma level cannot be used to meet the requirements of occupations that require a minimum of an AQF Bachelor degree level.”
This is the distinction that trips people. The same Graduate Diploma is accepted as the additional relevance-supplying qualification under Pathway 2, and rejected as a substitute for the degree that supplies the level. If you have a bachelor’s degree and need relevance, it works. If you have no bachelor’s degree and need level, it does not. The longer treatment is in when a graduate diploma counts at VETASSESS.
Group A occupations have no Pathway 2 at all. Internal Auditor: “This occupation requires a qualification assessed as comparable to the educational level of an Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF) Bachelor degree or higher, in a field highly relevant to the nominated occupation”, and the criteria add that VETASSESS “does not currently accept relevant studies at Graduate Certificate and Graduate Diploma levels on their own.” For a Group A occupation there is nothing on this page you can buy your way out with. The options are a different occupation, or a bachelor-level qualification in the right field.
A Graduate Certificate is not on the Pathway 2 list. Read the enumeration again — Diploma, Advanced Diploma, Associate Degree, Graduate Diploma. Graduate Certificate does not appear. That is a six-month, cheaper award that the criteria do not name, and we are not going to assume it is included.
Qualifications that exist at the right level, in the right fields
Below are currently-offered Australian qualifications in the fields that most often need closing, with the level as the provider states it. None of these is approved by VETASSESS, and VETASSESS approves nothing in advance. They are examples of what exists, so that you can hold a concrete option in mind while you read the criteria — not a shortlist to pick from.
| Provider | Qualification | Level as stated by the provider | Field | Duration |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Queensland | Graduate Diploma in Information Technology | “AQF — Level 8” | information technology | 1 year full-time |
| University of Queensland | Graduate Certificate in Business | “AQF — Level 8” | management, marketing, HR, supply chain (by elective) | half year |
| University of Queensland | Graduate Certificate in Commerce | “AQF — Level 8” | accounting, finance | half year |
| University of Southern Queensland | Graduate Diploma of Business | not stated numerically | marketing, finance, information systems, leadership, people and culture | 1 year |
| Adelaide University | Graduate Diploma in Procurement and Supply Chain Management | not stated for the award | supply chain and logistics | 1 year full-time |
| Curtin University | Graduate Diploma in Project Management | not stated numerically | project management | 1 year full-time |
| Southern Cross University | Graduate Diploma of Education (Early Childhood) | not stated numerically | early childhood education | 1 year full-time / 2 part-time |
Notice how few providers state an AQF level number for the award. UQ does, on the face of each programme page. Most do not — Adelaide University states AQF levels only in its entry rules (“A completed bachelor (AQF level 7) or bachelor honours (AQF level 8) degree or equivalent…”), and Curtin classifies its Graduate Diploma in Project Management only as “Postgraduate / Diploma / Project Management”. Where the level is not stated, you are inferring it from the award type, and you should say so to yourself before you rely on it.
Two of these carry warnings on their own pages that matter here. The University of Southern Queensland’s Graduate Diploma of Early Childhood Education and Care states plainly: “This Graduate Diploma does not lead to teaching in primary or secondary schools and graduates are not eligible to apply for teacher registration in Queensland.” A qualification that closes a VETASSESS relevance gap is not thereby a registration qualification — those are different systems with different rules, as set out in assessment, licence and admission.
For VET-sector Diplomas — the AQF 5 awards that are the cheapest way to meet the Pathway 2 floor — we checked two providers offering the same national qualification, BSB50620 Diploma of Marketing and Communication (TAFE Queensland, published total course fee AUD 5,535, nine months; TAFE SA, published full fee AUD 6,858). Neither provider states the AQF level on its course page, and we could not reach the national training register to confirm it, so we are not asserting one. If you are relying on a VET Diploma to meet an AQF Diploma floor, get the level in writing from the provider or from training.gov.au before you enrol.
How to choose one
Four questions, in this order.
- Is my occupation Group A or E? If yes, stop — there is no additional-qualification pathway, and post-qualification employment is required.
- What does my occupation page name as a highly relevant field? The top-up has to be in that field. A Graduate Certificate in Business does not close a gap for an occupation whose page says “General business and commerce qualifications are not normally considered relevant” — see which VETASSESS occupation a generic business degree satisfies.
- What is the floor for my group? AQF Diploma for Group B; AQF Certificate IV for Group C. Buying above the floor buys nothing extra under this pathway.
- Is the arithmetic worth it? Pathway 2 saves one year of employment against Pathway 3. If you already hold three years of highly relevant post-qualification employment in the last five, Pathway 3 costs you nothing and Pathway 2 costs you a year of study and its fee. The top-up is for people who are short on years, not for people who are short on confidence.
So what should you actually do
Get your occupation’s criteria page open and read the Pathway 2 wording as it appears there, since the floor differs by group. Then check the field, not the level — the level is easy to meet and the field is where applications fail. Ask any provider you are considering for a written statement of the qualification’s AQF level and its major field of study, because you will be submitting that, not a brochure. And do not buy a Graduate Diploma expecting it to stand in for a bachelor’s degree; VETASSESS has published, twice, that it will not.
What this page does not do
It does not recommend a qualification and it does not say any qualification will be accepted. VETASSESS assesses only completed qualifications, on application, and publishes no list of approved top-ups — so nobody, including us, can tell you in advance that a given course will close your gap. Course details, fees and levels above were read from each provider’s own page on 3 September 2026 and apply to the intake year each page states; providers change all three. Nothing here is a prediction of an outcome. For visa questions go to the Department of Home Affairs or a registered migration agent.
Sources
- VETASSESS — Management Consultant criteria (Group B Pathway 2 in full, including the worked example) · fetched 2026-09-03
- VETASSESS — Contract Administrator criteria (Group C Pathway 2: minimum AQF Certificate IV) · fetched 2026-09-03
- VETASSESS — Nominate an occupation (the Graduate Diploma exclusion; the four relevance factors) · fetched 2026-09-03
- VETASSESS — Internal Auditor criteria (Group A; 'does not currently accept relevant studies at Graduate Certificate and Graduate Diploma levels on their own') · fetched 2026-09-03
- The University of Queensland — Graduate Diploma in Information Technology (stated AQF Level 8) · page headed 2027; fetched 2026-09-03
- The University of Queensland — Graduate Certificate in Business (stated AQF Level 8) · page headed 2027; fetched 2026-09-03
- The University of Queensland — Graduate Certificate in Commerce (stated AQF Level 8) · page headed 2027; fetched 2026-09-03
- Adelaide University — Graduate Diploma in Procurement and Supply Chain Management · 2026 indicative fee stated; applications open for 2027; fetched 2026-09-03
- Curtin University — Graduate Diploma in Project Management · page footer 'Last updated on: 2 September 2026'; fetched 2026-09-03
- University of Southern Queensland — Graduate Diploma of Business · page refers to the 2027 handbook; fetched 2026-09-03
- Southern Cross University — Graduate Diploma of Education (Early Childhood), 2027 handbook edition · 2027 handbook; fetched 2026-09-03
degree.help summarises published rules. It is not an accreditation body and does not provide immigration advice. Only the named regulator can assess your qualification.